Slow cooker apple pie

Yesterday evening, my daughter and I had a lovely time making apple pie. Without an oven, I had previously thought such culinary delights were out of the question, but I recently acquired a couple of souffle dishes which fit perfectly into my oval slow cooker. So, I thought: why not give it a go?

The pastry is in fact pizza dough, left over from Saturday’s children’s party. I have found that it does keep for a day or so in the fridge and originally I had intended to use it for flatbreads. Then I thought of a cookery programme (The Great British Bake Off), in which Mary Berry had demonstrated how to make a steamed pudding with an outer casing of dough which was packed with fruit.

One part of the process I was keen to try was cutting a quarter from the rolled-out dough so that it fits neatly into the basin. This quarter is then used to top the dish. And in our case, we used the remnants from that to decorate our pies.

In the aforementioned programme, the pudding is cooked in a pan on the stove, but I wondered if it would do just as well in a slow cooker, so this was equally something I was keen to try. I put a little water in the pot and placed the pies (in their dishes) in the water. After five-six hours’ cooking, they look fine to me – can’t wait now till it’s teatime to taste them, rather than look and admire!

I do hope that the result is positive as this opens up a whole new category of food we can cook. Real pastry will be next on the list if so – and this at the cost of running a lightbulb (The Independent, 1 Jan 2009).

image

© Helen Butt, November 2013

About silverbells2012

I have always been interesting in a living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I am making a more determined effort to live in a sustainable fashion, including growing my own vegetables and cooking as much food as possible from scratch.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slow cooker apple pie

  1. andy1076 says:

    mmmmm you had my full undivided attention at pie… :9

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

