From seed to vegetable

In November 2009, half my back garden was bush and half was very out -of-condition lawn.

The back garden with half the bushes removed.

Now, the bushes have been removed – I dug the last one up just before Christmas 2011 – and more than half the lawn has been turned to provide nutrients for the soil or covered in carpet for the duration of the last winter.

In place of the bushes, there is an apple tree, a rhubarb plant and a variety of vegetables, all growing with some success. I think it is going to take some time to add enough organic matter to make this part of the garden really productive. But then it could just as easily be the slimline layer of top soil that needs to be remedied.

Nonetheless, I am still excited about planting seeds and wondering if they will grow, how much they will produce. In fact, as I am very much a novice gardener, I don’t even know what to expect the first shoots from the seeds to look like. Is that lettuce or is it a weed?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

