The beige carpet

Thank goodness for rain!
 
Not only do my plants need it but so do I….. The lawn was full of moss and dandelions when I bought my house two and a half years ago and now I am half way though digging it up. Well, actually digging out the dandelions underneath the beige carpet donated by my dad to kill off the grass.
 
Other current successes include new broad bean plants popping out of the ground a few times each week and the first appearance of both sprouting broccoli and cauliflowers. I am one of the lucky souls who has the right kind of soil to grow them. The rhubarb is also happy in its new home – in the ground rather than in a pot, though a very nice ceramic pot it was.
 
Image
About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

