Compost

Making compost was the first thing I did with my garden once I had acquired it. Prior to buying my house I had always lived in flats and so the opportunities, never mind the need, to make compost were more than a little limited.

Now, I have a compost bin which never gets completely full, big though it is. There is no problem accumulating brown waste to put in it…. but we just don’t seem to generate enough of the green stuff to really fill it up. Still, the quality of the compost itself seems fine to me, even if it is not produced in abundance.

So far, I’ve only really used the homemade compost for potting. Well, maybe put a bit on the garden but the soil needs more than a little bit of extra nutrition to get it up to speed. So, organic manure has been the helping hand of the moment. That’s to say, the last two years. Exciting to think what I might be able to grow in the future, after ploughing in more and more organic matter.

One thing I did do over the winter was fill holes in the garden with the vegetable peelings and such like from the kitchen. First, I lined the hole with old newspapers or paper shreddings, which I understand will be good for water retention, and then I topped that with the aforementioned green waste. Until now, all I’ve seen is the soil on top of these mounds of future compost subside as the green matter decomposes underneath my vegetables, but all being well their roots will reach the good stuff and my crops will be better this year.

Watch this space!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

