Breadmaker cake

I lost the paddle for my bread-maker and then had to rely on bought bread and other baked products, after making just one cake in the machine. That was soggy, to say the least, due to my misreading the baking instructions – I weighed out 175g of dried fruit and then soaked the lot before adding it to the mix instead of soaking fruit and then adding 175g to the mix. It was still delicious, though, and got a big thumbs up from my five year old.

Six weeks on and I am now in possession of a new paddle, so baking can begin in earnest again. This time, I got the mixture right, or rather I got the amount of soaked dried fruit right, as I did in fact add chocolate powder instead of cinnamon and nutmeg. My daughter’s judgement is that this cake is too dry and I am inclined to agree, so we might need to tweak the recipe a little. Maybe that is why brandy is an optional extra in the book?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breadmaker cake

  1. oneanna65 says:

    Very good !!!! Thanks.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

