Garden taking off


The garden is starting to come to life again after the winter months. We still have some purple sprouting broccoli from last year, which is slowly coming to an end. Apart from that, we are now waiting for beetroot, radishes and the following:

1. New purple sprouting broccoli (currently just in front of the apple tree at the back of the garden;

2. Cauliflowers (currently behind the rhubarb at the back of the garden);

3. The rhubarb itself, which has magnificent leaves, but the stalks are still a little short;

4. Broadbeans, which are starting to grow at some speed now (in front of the rhubarb);

5. Onions (in various locations) and some spring onions (next to the old broccoli). The onions are doing much better than last year, no doubt because of the improvements I have made to the soil as well as more water at the right time;

6. Mangetout (in front of the broadbeans), which seem a bit slow this year but should benefit from being planted next to the beans, I understand;

7. Carrots (in front of the mangetout), which are doing so much better than any previous year. Hopefully, they won’t be affected by carrot root fly like the ones at the back end of last year (note to self, do not pick carrots during the day – at any time of the year!);

8. Strawberries (on the right and in growbags), which are starting to flower. I hope this means they will also produce a decent crop this year.

9. Fennel and coriander (in pots on the right). The fennel is starting to grow from the seeds produced last year. The coriander is not growing yet but I am hopeful that this year we will be able to eat the leaves rather than ending up with nothing but seeds at the end of the season.

10. Garlic (on the left next to the compost bin), which does not seem as vigorous as last year. This might be to do with the fact that I planted cloves from last year’s crop.

The apple tree is a maiden and only been in the ground for a year so it will be interesting to see how it develops. Last year, it had two sprouts with a few leaves; this year, it looks like it is going to have at least four, one of which is at the bottom of the tree, and it may even produce some blossom. That is not going to provide the bees with much pollen this year, but I am pleased to be contributing to the honey made at the local organic farm.

I don’t know yet whether brambles (blackberries) produce pollen which bees can collect but I will find out later in the year. Another acquisition in the fruit line was a thornless bramble bush last autumn and so far it looks like it is growing very well. In fact, I have no doubt it will need taming before too long, otherwise I could find we have brambles and nothing else to eat!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden taking off

  1. Karen says:

    It sounds like you will have a wonderful garden this year. I have an apple orchard and prune off any sprouts that grow at the bottom of my trees. I actually trim off any that I don’t want to grow into a large branch.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

