After a night away

Even after just one night away, it is always exciting to come back home and see what has been happening in the garden. I’d been kindly given more empty milk cartons to store the rainwater, so job number one was emptying the drawers collecting it – very satisfying! The first development I noticed was the rhubarb which seems to have grown to the point where I can finally pick some in the next day or so. The lettuce also seems to be doing well, though I wonder when it will start to actually look like lettuce heads. And the birds hadn’t been at the cauliflowers, even though the wind had blown the netting off them.

In general, the garden looks very healthy – all shiny green leaves and dark soil. And I got a surprise: there appear to be potatoes growing. I haven’t planted any – wasn’t intending to as my soil isn’t right for them and there is still the possibility of frost for another month, anyway. In other words, either there must be remnants from last year, or my vegetable peelings under the soil are starting to sprout. 

I am told that potatoes growing in such a way can lead to blight, so I will have to watch how things develop. However, as some of the potato plants are in the broadbean patch, I wouldn’t want to dig them up and disturb the beans. Looks like I might just have to lob the heads of the potato plants instead, which would be a shame if I can get any kind of crop. But not at the expense of the tomatoes I hope to be putting out once the risk of frost has past.

On the subject of tomatoes, I planted some seeds indoors about a week ago and the seedlings are coming through. Last year, I had nine plants in all and got what I thought was a magnificent crop. The tomatoes did redden very late in the season, which was a pity, but I am still eating the chutney I made last year…. That was another slowcooker first. So, with twelve plants potentially this year, I’m looking forward to an even better crop.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

