Another cake

At the end of last week, we had lots of bananas which were getting very ripe. We were also going away and needed to take something as an offering to a party. So, I tried out banana and chocolate cake in my breadmaker.

The first attempt was delicious but far too soggy – it fell to pieces as I tipped the bowl to empty the cake onto the cooling tray. I think this was in part because I had added some milk in case the bananas didn’t contain enough moisture, especially as I was using wholemeal flour instead of plain. However, in every other way, I had followed the recipe in the book.

So, for the second attempt I decided to reduce the liquid to one egg and make do with the moisture from the bananas, which did result in a cake which stayed together….. but the soggy first one won hands down in terms of wow factor, all the same. Maybe the second one would have been better if I had taken it out of the breadmaker the moment it was ready, but being so keen to keep the cake in one piece, I had kept it in the machine for an hour to cool down. So, the experimenting continues, but at least I know that gooey works for my palate and presentation doesn’t.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another cake

  1. When I have a perfect tasting but ugly looking cake, I arrange it in a decorative serving bowl in small chunks. Then I drizzle white and dark chocolate on top with pecans or walnuts. (makes it look like I intended for it to look that way!

  2. That sounds a great idea – thanks!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

