Potting up

Moving onto the next phase of the spring rush: today I started potting up the tomato seedlings. That makes two plants which all being well will produce a fine crop of tomatoes in the autumn. Tomorrow I hope to do some more, so that they will have a better chance of survival than at present…. Unfortunately, I forgot to water the seedlings one day and some of them seem to have died. Oh well, I will put some more seeds in the tray (made from old egg cartons) and see how the second batch fare.

Yesterday, I planted the seeds from last year’s pumpkin. I say ‘pumpkin’ because the one surviving plant only produced two pumpkins and I gave one away to my next door neighbour for her grandchildren at Halloween. It makes me so happy, though, to be able to give little gifts of this kind.

Tomatoes always seem to do well in my garden but I think last year I put the pumpkins outside slightly too early and the frost got them. Alternatively, the soil may simply have been too depleted of nutrients to sustain most of the plants. This year, with all the vegetable peelings under the soil, I am hoping that this situation will not arise again.

As the garden is starting to flourish now, I also sowed some more beetroot. So far, I have eaten more of the leaves (tastes very likely spinach and I would definitely recommend it for being such a versatile vegetable to grow). But again, perhaps this year will be different.

I’m also toying with the idea of getting some more chilli seeds, only this time I would like the fruits it produces to be somewhat more fiery than the ones the current plant does. No doubt, they are very nutritious, but they do nothing for my curries as there is only the barest hint of a tang.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Potting up

  1. Karen says:

    Good luck with your vegetable garden this year.

  2. mybrightlife says:

    I have struggled to for years to find a happy place in my garden for tomatoes but finally did this last summer. Didn’t buy a tomato for all of Dec and Jan. Very satisfying. Good luck with your crop! Will try plant in egg cartons, come spring.

  3. Yes, it is very satisfying not needing to rely on the shops for your tomatoes, isn’t it? I like using the egg cartons for starting the tomato plants off because seems a shame to buy special pots when there are plenty ready made at home, which happen to be free and which get a second life before going in the compost heap.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

