While camping….

Sitting in a rain-sodden field this weekend, apart from the company, the consolation was that back at home the plants were probably loving it. So, checking on progress when I got back, I was over-the-moon to see that the lettuces were looking more like the vegetable I know rather than leggy seedlings and the broad beans are climbing up their poles. There are also more potatoes coming through the ground, so goodness knows how many tubers I will actually end up with from simply putting kitchen cast-offs straight into the ground.

Another happy moment was collecting 10 more pints of rainwater from the drawers around the wendy house. Improbable as it seems, all the milk cartons full of the stuff will no doubt have been worth collecting at some point in the summer.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

