Straddling two seasons

Image

In spite of buying super duper new net cloches the other day, I decided to start a new batch of cauliflowers off in the house as I don’t think they appreciate being raised in the ground. The nets look like they are the perfect size for one cauliflower plant, though, so it seems likely that I will be taking a trip back to the shop for more of them soon.

In the meantime, I have bought a mint plant and repotted that this afternoon. The thought of iced mint tea in this heat was too appealing when I discovered a new garden centre this morning. And I did have a ceramic pot going empty (the bronze fennel in it didn’t survive last summer).

Perhaps this evening, I will give transplanting some of the broccoli seedlings a go. I have no idea if transplanting them in the afternoon will make it less likely they survive, but I have a hunch it would be better to do it once the sun is off the garden and I can water the ground/seedlings more effectively (i.e. the sun won’t cause the water to evaporate before it does any good for the plants).

Another development which has already happened is that the mangetout are coming into flower. More and more flowers are also coming out on the broccoli but to my surprise, when I went out to get some of the leaves, in order to use as much of the plant as I can before I dig them up, there were yet more of the sprouts. I must get the sweetcorn in where the broccoli has been though in the next few days, otherwise I doubt they will come to much by autumn.

All in all, I feel I am straddling two seasons at the moment and will be glad when I can concentrate on the summer rather than be waiting for the spring to be over.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Straddling two seasons

  1. Please share where you can purchase those net tents…I would love to purchase about 10 of them to keep critters away from my broccoli and cauliflower!

  2. mybrightlife says:

    Never heard of net cloches before but going to go hunting for them when pring arrives at our side of the world.

  3. The nets are fab, aren’t they? I’m based in the UK but you might be able to buy them online if you can’t find them in any shops near you. The web address for the company that makes them is: http://www.greentreeproducts.co.uk
    Good luck in locating some!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

