Thank you, rain!

It was so hot and dry over the last few days that I hadn’t been out in the garden to do any work but at last it rained yesterday and a bit today, so the soil was soft and much easier to deal with this evening. Which meant I did quite a number of jobs.

The first job was collecting the rain from the tubs around the wendy house – over 10 pints in all, so I am definitely well stocked up on rain water now. Then I got to work on the weeds, including the couch grass by the apple tree which came out really quickly. And it was so satisfying to be able to pull out the long roots, which I hope means that I have eradicated it from that patch of ground.

Another attempt at eradication was digging up dandelions which have grown in the ground which I had already been through a couple of times. This will be new ground for planting vegetables, even as early as next year, depending on how the garden develops. The carpet I put over the lawn, where the new ground is, had done a reasonably good job of killing the grass but of course it hasn’t done anything for the deep-rooted weeds like the dandelions and couch grass.

I also dug out the final two purple sprouting broccoli plants and prepared the ground for the sweetcorn, which I hope to plant tomorrow. Now that the soil is moist from the recent rain, I hope that will mean they get going quickly, as I am aware that I might have left sowing the seeds a little late. That is one of the disadvantages of having a small garden – it is difficult to find the space for planting in a timely fashion. Still, at least the frosts have passed and so that is one issue I no longer have to contend.

The tomato seedlings are coming along very well, so I hope that I will be able to plant them out soon as well. At least, a couple of plants should be ready – and if the summer continues in the same vein as the spring, there might even be the possibility that I have some red tomatoes before the middle of the autumn. In comparison, last year, most of the tomatoes were still green when I needed to take up the plants they were on. It was, however, a fantastic crop, so more of that volume of tomatoes would be fantastic!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank you, rain!

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Mmmmm…looking forward to spring so that I can roll up my sleeves again and get involved in these kinds of activities! Meanwhile, as our winter sets in I will just enjoy the garden expereince through your activities – and take notes!

    • I find it difficult to imagine that for half the world it is now autumn/winter. That said, the heating is on again here, so I don’t really have to imagine too much! Winter is a sad time for gardeners, though, isn’t it?

      • mybrightlife says:

        Mmm. We don’t have to deal with snow and frost (luckily) but everything slows down dramatically. We are a summer rain area so water supply is also limited this time of year. September / October is just around the corner – time to plan….

  2. Having no frost would be wonderful! On the other hand, having more rain in summer than winter might not be ideal… I guess all gardeners and farmers have some less that ideal weather system to contend with.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

