Jubilee weekend

Yet again, I have been away for the weekend and have come back to see some developments in the garden. For one thing, the mangetout pods have grown big enough to harvest, although there are only a few of them. Still, how am I going to resist the first of the new season’s crops?

Image

On the other hand, I am bit concerned about the  broad beans as some of the flowers look like they could be infected with something…. Looks like I am going to have to do a bit of research to see if there is a problem which I can nip in the bud – literally!

Image

I am also surprised by the bolting onion. This is where the novice in me really starts to show. I am okay as long as things seem to be going okay but the moment the unexpected happens, I am flummoxed. Do I now need to dig up that onion before it becomes inedible or can I leave it for a while longer? Definitely, there’s some more research to do!

Image

Happily, the lettuce is neither bolting nor turning a strange colour, so it looks good to go. The plan with the ones in the photo below is to thin them out and eat the lettuce that I pick very, very soon.

Image

Another success is the strawberries. The fruit are not ripe but they definitely look like strawberries now. Better get them netting up before the birds decide to make a meal of them!

Image

And it goes without saying that the ubiquitous Bank Holiday rain has yielded another 20 or so pints to keep for a not so rainy spell. So, all in all, things are coming along 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jubilee weekend

  1. PJ Girl says:

    It’s best to cut the flower off and use this onion first – it will still be edible but won’t store well because of the flower stalk running through it. Alternatively, leave it to flower, the bees and butterflies will love it, and you can save the seed until next year… that is unless you want to try a bolt resistant variety! Our weather has been very strange so I’m surprised mine haven’t bolted!
    I’m not sure about the Broad Beans as it’s the first year that I’ve grown them… love your scarlet blossoms!

    • Thanks very much for your comment, PG Girl – most helpful. The onion doesn’t look big enough to harvest yet but I will cut the flower off and see what happens. I’m glad it is only one and not all of the onions!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

