Contradictions

Image

I understand that moss is a sign of an acidic soil, in which case perhaps I have hybrid soil as it also appears to be alkaline, going on the way cauliflower and broccoli grow. The moss in this photo has appeared over the last day or so, no doubt because of the dampness.

I’ve also done quite a few jobs over the last of couple days. One of them has been to replant some of the broccoli seedlings towards the back of the garden and, having no more net cloches to protect them, I’m hoping the old netting I had from previous years will be enough. At least these seedlings look fairly robust. Another job has been to sow mangetout seeds in nooks and crannies… one of the things I learned from last year was that I can use more of the space than I thought, so this year I am hoping to up productivity by doing just that. So, I’ve also sown some more carrots and spring onions where there is a spare bit of ground.

Now, I hope that there will be sunshine tomorrow. There was a bit this afternoon, which no doubt the garden enjoyed as much as me, but as it is heading towards the longest day of the year it would be nice to be basking in it once more. And now I’ve got my water store, there’s every reason to be hopeful this summer 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

