Surprise!

The sky is blue (albeit with some cloud). In fact, the sun is shining 🙂 This is contrary to what the weather forecast said, as we were supposed to be having yet more heavy rain today. Of course, there is still time for this to happen but in the meantime, I hope that my plants will appreciate what they’ve got for this possibly brief moment in time.

However, this is not the only surprise. Yesterday, I noticed that my pumpkins might be starting to sprout. Or could it have been the small pebbles in the compost? But no, they are indeed sprouting, so there is hope yet for at least one pumpkin for Halloween.

The broad beans also seem to be doing something: it looks like the flowers are now turning to pods, so I hope that means we will actually get to eat some this year. It is a shame to lose the crimson flowers but they were very pleasant to look at while they lasted. And it would seem that my concerns about the flowers withering and turning black were unfounded. All part of the learning curve!

The onions also seem to be continuing to grow in spite of bolting. So, all being well, they will not only be edible but of a decent size when they are ready to be taken out of the ground. All I need now is to see the sweetcorn appearing from the soil and to plant the tomatoes, which fortunately seem to be doing something indoors.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Sigh! I wrote too soon, as it has started raining again and quite heavily. How disappointing. Oh well, at least the garden will have appreciated the hour or so of something it had probably forgotten existed. And I do like thunder 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

