Flowers – wave two

The bluebells have wilted now. The apple tree has no more blossom. The broad bean flowers are turning into pods and the strawberry flowers are growing into fruit. However, there a few new additions to the garden which are attracting the bumblebees and hopefully other bees as well.

The first of the new flowers is the clover, which I have planted as green manure in a patch of ground which is currently useless for growing anything else, as there is simply not enough top soil:

The next is flowers on the thornless blackberry bush. This bush has really taken off – and it is only the first year that I have had it:

Moving round the garden, here are the potato plants – and to think these are from the remnants of potatoes I left in the ground after the winter crop last year or vegetable peelings that I put in the ground to fertilise the soil (along with other pre-compost material):

Finally, there is the next batch of mangetout on its way. Even though I have too few plants for a substantial crop, these make a pleasant addition to the many dishes I use them in:

Now, I am looking forward to these turning into edibles for my kitchen 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Flowers – wave two

  1. Hey, I am envious of your bean pods!! I hope mine are as successful as yours.

  2. PJ Girl says:

    Look at your Thornless Blackberry! I got one this year too and it’s nowhere near flowering so you should have a good crop this year to go with your apples… and no prickles when picking 🙂 I’m training mine against the wall so it may be mad at me for making it do things the hard way!

    • My dad put it in the ground for me, so that may have helped it along. That spot is very sheltered as well. However, the tree is too young to give me any fruit this year. I hope your blackberry bush starts flowering soon. I guess plants are like humans, they all develop at different rates!

  3. Bridget says:

    Great to have so much produce. I’ve been meaning to get one of those thornless blackberries.

  4. pzdesigns says:

    Always lovely reading your posts and seeing your photos!
    We’re going to try green manures too! 😀

    • Thank you. I’d recommend clover as it does look lovely. At the same time, I’ve found that soil needs to be reasonably fertile to be worth using green manures, otherwise farm manure is still best.

  5. blackberriesandbloodoranges says:

    Can’t wait to see what you do with all of these in the kitchen!

  6. Re aquariumstarter: Yes, I am like you, finding out every step of the way!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

