Summer equinox

It is still too cold for the time of year but the sun came out yesterday afternoon and the same has happened today. This is vastly different from the forecast and I really felt today that summer was finally here.

The sun aside, I had a feeling of excitement and expectation from the new seeds I bought today. Since reading the following blog (http://thepyjamagardener.wordpress.com/2012/06/17/rainbow-chard/), I have wanted to try rainbow chard and so this afternoon I went to one of my favourite garden centres. Then I found a small spot in the garden where I sowed the seeds.

I also bought some seeds for chilli peppers which promise to be ‘pungent’ and are called The Windowsill Pepper, so should be perfect for inside. They were, according to the packet, supposed to have been sown back in the spring but as they are going to be in a warm environment anyway they may well simply start producing fruit at an odd time.

The third and very important purchase was a ‘grow cloche’:

This is similar to the net cloche I bought a couple of weeks or so ago in that it will protect seedlings from birds and caterpillars. It has a wider range of uses, though, insofar as it will keep plants warmer and so extend the growing season at either end, something which I am sorely in need of. (There is lettuce underneath this cloche, just appearing for the first time today.)

All in all, the garden is looking very green but it would be nice to see some colours now as well. And not half eaten ones… I think I need to go out very early to get any strawberries as there seems to be a pattern to the slugs attacking them by nine in the morning.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Summer equinox

  1. So glad you got some sun finally! 🙂

  2. PJ Girl says:

    Hooray for the chard! Mine was a little slow to germinate but soon shot up once the sun appeared for a few days. What are you going to do about those pesky slugs? Sounds like reinforcements are needed 🙂

    • I’ve got some slug repellent which claims to be suitable for organic gardeners and it does seem to do the trick. I haven’t put any near the strawberries as I thought the straw would be enough but most of them are too high for the slugs, so I should still get most of the crop – fingers crossed!

  3. I’m having trouble viewing your recent posts. (Versatile blog award, 628, and Kindnesses). It keeps saying page not found when I try and click on them. any suggestions?

    • Sorry about that!! I was having trouble working out how to add an image and hyperlinks to the page you should now be able to see: Versatile Blogger Awards. I have nominated you, by the way.. I will post on your blog but it’s 1am here and I must go to bed now, otherwise I might find my paid job a bit difficult tomorrow!

    • I meant Kindnesses (which is about the award)! Thanks for your persistence in trying to read my blog 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

