Britain in Bloom

I’ve been under the weather with hayfever over the last week but had taken a half day’s annual leave on Wednesday to help my village win our part of the competition Britain in Bloom, so met up with the other keen gardeners to work on the area down by the canal.

I’ve only lived in this area for a couple of years or so but I understand that quite a lot of work has been done recently to create a better environment for the local people to enjoy. So, in addition to flower beds there is now a community orchard down by the lock. In fact, we have got two, planted with a variety of flower bushes and trees.

At the moment, most of the plants are too young to produce any fruit but one of the orchards is pleasing to look at in any case, because it has been grassed over between the trees and bushes. The other orchard needs more work doing to it as the ground is full of weeds. The plan however is to plant a wildflower meadow rather than grass in this one.

Here are a couple of photos down by the canal where we were tidying up and planting new flowers after the others got damaged by the recent rain:

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Awards, Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Britain in Bloom

  1. blackberriesandbloodoranges says:

    Sorry you have been sick!

  2. Boo on hayfever! I like that you live in a “village.” My dream of being in an English cottage in the country sounds like you’re life! 🙂

  3. PJ Girl says:

    I love the idea of community orchards! We’re all being encouraged to plant native trees so I’ve always been surprised that there are not more orchards in public places… especially when a lot of people don’t have their own garden, let alone space for their own fruit trees!

    • I’d never heard of community orchards until I became involved in gardening for Britain in Bloom but now I have seen other places with them, so I think the idea could be catching on. Definitely a great way of using community space, I agree 🙂

  4. Hotly Spiced says:

    Lovely to hear that Britain is in bloom. I was wondering if it would be delayed given summer has so far eluded you. The images are beautiful.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

