One-pot cooking

I love meals where everything goes into one pot and I then leave it to do its stuff 🙂

This evening I have made a dish in the rice cooker, which I’ve only made once before, some five years ago! That time I did it as an experiment… and this time I think you could call it experimental, too.

The basic idea is that you add any ingredients of your choice to the pot at the same time as the rice and requisite water. I lost the cup to go with the cooker, so now I use two and a half cups of water to a cup of rice. For white rice I would add just two but I think brown rice needs that bit extra.

This evening, I’ve cooked the meal with the following additional ingredients:  raw egg, chillies, mushrooms and mangetout. I wasn’t sure if I had used raw eggs last time, so I was a little reticent today, in case my memory was failing me. However, the egg was fine and I would definitely recommend that. The vegetables have also turned out fine. However, I used risotto rice this time and I think that needs more liquid than basmati rice, so I do feel as a whole the meal is a little too al dente for my liking.

In future I think I will stick to basmati… but this is a dish I will try again.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One-pot cooking

  1. Love one pot cooking! Ive never used a rice cooker, but it sure is nice to throw a bunch of “whatever” into the crock pot!

  2. I use my rice cooker all week, but have never tried it for anything else. My friend cooks her quinoa in it:) Love to see what you create!

    • Quinoa is something I want to find out more about. I think I have eaten it and like it but it is a tentative ‘I think’. We’re going to our favourite organic shop in the city centre today, so I might get some to try properly.
      And then I can let you know 🙂

  3. That’s a great but of experimenting. We have a slow cooker that I have no clue what to do with as I think of it as something for meat. I may experiment!

    • For me, slow cookers are one of the best inventions ever – bar the internet, perhaps! You can get books with slow cooker recipes and can make the most amazing range of meals in one. I make a lot of beans stews in mine and the beauty of them is that you can go out and leave the pot on without having to worry that your house is going to have burnt to the ground by the time you get back 🙂

  4. punkrgrl says:

    Easy does it–great idea!

  5. its excellent as your other articles : D, regards for putting up.

  6. I enjoy your wp theme, could you mind telling me where you download it from? Thank-you beforehand!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

