The slug!

I think anyone in my climate at the moment has been experiencing a fair number of these unwanted creatures:

I was amazed that it had managed to climb to the top of a broad bean plant – althetic or what?

I had also thought that the broad beans were immune to such attack but obviously not! I therefore was out there like a shot with the slug pellets. And for good measure I gave virtually the whole garden a sprinking, just in case.

Apart from slug damage, I decided to cut down one of the mangetout plants as that had been all but obliterated by the birds (I assume). I did however leave the roots in the ground, as I have read somewhere that this means the soil will continue to benefit from the nitrogen they produce. And I now have the one more stake needed to prop up a tomato plant I put in yesterday.

On a completely different note, I had been wondering what to do with the tiny piece of ground right at the back of the garden, where the bluebells had been in the spring. Then last night it came to me: I would sow some wildflower seed and cover it with pebbles that I have removed from the front garden (that is a job in itself yet to complete). I am unsure as to whether anything will happen but since I can’t very well grow anything else there – for one thing, my neighbour needs to use that path to take her rubbish bins out to the road for collection and for another, the soil is only an very few inches deep – it is worth the experiment.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The slug!

  1. My mom saves crushed eggshells to put around plants to keep the slugs off. She seems to think it works.

    • Thank you, Heidi. This year, the slugs have come in super strength and are totally intrepid. However, I do have a large number of eggs ready to be crushed for the compost bin so instead I will try them round my plants.

  2. PJ Girl says:

    They just love the weather we’ve had recently – sorry to hear about your plants 😦

    • Thanks! I’ve been out there again this evening taking yet more anti-slug action. They are becoming so intrepid they are attacking so many things that I’ve never seen them damage or destroy before.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

