Red tomatoes

Okay, the tomatoes are not my own but they are the next best thing – from my local organic farm. I have been waiting so long for these…. having decided to go with the seasons, I have missed my tomatoes (apart from a few tins and some homemade green tomato chutney). But I can appreciate how it must have felt for people in the past, who could only eat in season: the excitement of the first of whatever they liked in particular.

I was also pleased that I didn’t in fact need to buy any of the other vegetable produce at the shop today as I have everything else they were selling in my own garden. I may not have a lot but I am still doing my bit for the environment and it can only get better.

On the subject of my garden, I haven’t needed to do much apart from a little weeding. This has therefore meant that I have been able to get on with a few jobs which further my plans to improve the garden overall. What I want is to establish a vegetable patch near the house and have a fruit and flower garden at the rear, where the apple tree is.

There is an incredible amount of work left to do: finishing off killing the lawn and removing all traces of couch grass and dandelions; removing the stones, both pebbles and concrete, from the path at the back and turning it into ground for growing; erecting a fence of some description halfway down the garden to separate the two parts; moving the fruit up to the relevant part of the garden; and planting some kind of screen to hide the three big bins.

It is great that we’ve got a bin not only for general household waste but also one for most recyclable material (we do have to take glass to a bottle bank ourselves) and another for garden waste. On top of that we have a kitchen waste bin but I can’t use that at the moment to dispose of food waste as it is full of rainwater. The council is offering waterbutts at a reduced price but until I can see how much space I have and where this extra bin might go, I am reticent to get one.

I’ve also been toying with the idea of getting a new compost bin, especially as these are on offer through the council as well. However, this would also need to be housed somewhere – and where?

Other improvements include getting rid of the rotary line and having a retractable washing line, so that it doesn’t take up space when not needed. At the moment, the rotary line looks like the main feature, which is a real shame:

Then I would like to paint both the patio and the stepping stones (slabs removed from the path where the bins currently live) to make them look more interesting. I have also seen a wonderful wooden structure at Harlow Carr, RHS gardens in Harrogate, which I would like to build over the patio, so that we can have some shelter and at the same time be able to grow other plants on the posts. (Next time we visit the gardens, I will take photos of the features which interest me.)

I am very excited about all this…. It will be lovely to have a garden which was functional, used efficiently and pretty šŸ™‚

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

