Free gym workout!

No wonder I’ve put off doing any more work on the ex-lawn: digging is hard work!

Earlier in the year, I sowed some crimson clover as a green manure and now that it has flowered, so we’ve had the pleasure of seeing it in bloom, I decided it was time to dig it in. (The clover was half in the border and half where the lawn used to be.) First, I cut off the flowers and put them in the bin for garden waste, in order to avoid my compost harbouring seeds which could cover the garden next year. I have a feeling the seeds have actually already gone but hopefully, if that is the case, they will have stayed where the clover is and so be easier to manage.

Then, as I was digging in the clover I had to dig out the dandelions which had been hiding there, as well as couch grass and other weeds. There were definitely some whoppers in there, so it was immensely satisfying to get them up and out.

All of this took over an hour and the patch of ground only measured about two foot by three. How much work is it therefore going to take me to sort out the whole of the lawn area so that it is ready for planting vegetables next year? One thing is for sure, it beats a workout at the gym – not only is it free but a lot more productive, I feel.

While I was out in the garden, I also dug up most of the garlic, which sad to say has not come to much. This is probably because I used cloves from the crop last year: only one of the cloves has produced a proper head with multiple cloves. The rest are simply a bigger clove than the one that went into the ground. So, this year I am going to look out for some new garlic to plant, and one which hopefully has some more taste to it.

After digging up the garlic, I replanted a couple of the purple sprouting broccoli in its place. Last year, I had three plants which kept us going (along with gifts to friends and neighbours) and I do mean ‘us’, as there are actually two of us at home who will eat this. Now, we have at least seven plants, so if nothing else we are going to have quite a lot of one crop.

Last but not least, I also sowed some more rainbow chard now that the first round are coming through okay. I’m really looking forward to seeing the grown plants – which colours are the stems going to be? Each plant a different colour or even different colours on the same plant?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Free gym workout!

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Never heard of green manure till now. lots to learn. Thanks!

  2. Bridget says:

    Bet you felt great afterwards.

  3. I hope you’ll share photos of all your hard work!

  4. I’ve wanted to use green manure but I haven’t found any seeds for it in the stores here. I suppose I should ask. I planted some garlic cloves I think last summer and had forgotten about them. These were cloves I bought at the supermarket for my recipes. Then I accidentally pulled some out of the garden a few weeks ago, wondering where they came from. I need to keep better track of things!

  5. You might find it easier to order green manure online? The best green manure, apparently, is rye grass (although that could depend on your climate, what grows best for you etc).
    I need to keep better track of things, too. I dug up some spring onion seedlings the other day as I just didn’t see them and in places I know I’ve planted something but I can’t remember what it is!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

