Questions of the day

Today, when I arrived home at about lunchtime, there was a large letter on the doormat. It was from the Green Building Store (www.greenbuildingstore.co.uk). It was information which I had requested and completely forgotten about. However, it immediately made me think about my purchases at another DIY store I had just visited which cannot claim to have quite the same green credentials.

I had actually only popped in to get some dust masks but whilst my daughter and I were looking at the chandeliers and deciding which we liked best (dream on, our house is far too small for one of those, apart from any other considerations), I remembered I wanted some tile paint. Oh, and browsing along the aisles I spied the exact blind for my kitchen that I had been looking for since we moved into our house in November 2009. I also happened to be in a clearance sale. So, how could I resist?

I was so relieved when I got home to discovered that it fit the window (generally, when I get home I discover with dismay that the blind or curtains I’ve just purchased are going to have to be returned due to being too short, too narrow, just not right). I was also extremely pleased when I had put the blind up, as not only did it look just as I’d hoped but I had done my first spot of drilling (having borrowed a neighbour’s drill).

But the blind is not made from entirely renewable resources and may well not have been made in the most ecologically sound way either. There was also the packaging, which consisted largely of non-recyclable plastic. So, does buying it because it was in a clearance sale make it more okay to buy?

Well, at the end of the day, I do need a blind. Apart from affording us greater privacy, it will keep draughts out in winter and thus reduce the amount of gas needed for heating. I think that this will only be a marginal benefit overall, but a reasonable looking environment to live in is good for one’s wellbeing, so gaining this with benefits is a win-win situation. Besides, what would have happened to the blind if no one had bought it. Landfill?

On the other hand, am I not supporting unsustainable sourcing and manufacturing by buying such an item? And why is it that a new item is much more tempting that a second hand one via freecycle or a charity shop? How could I make it easier for myself to rely less on the stores in a retail park and seek out alternative, more sustainable sources?

These questions are even more pertinent for the paint, I think. While it could be argued that it can be difficult to find the right blind, one white paint is much like another white paint, isn’t it? It doesn’t take the same degree of effort to order a can of paint online as it does to hunt down that elusive piece of material to decorate a kitchen window to your liking!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Questions of the day

  1. mybrightlife says:

    So much food for thought. I had the exact same conversation in my head this am when I woke up and my dodgy bed-side lamp fell over again nearly knocking me out and almost ruining yet another glode. Yet I continue to find excuses to not replace it, like – it still provides light (even though it has to be held up with weights and balanced against the bed post because of the lousy design. Yet I also tell myself – It does not add to quality to my life, just stress – also important.

    I have been keeping an eye out in junk stores for a replacement but – no luck (the pickings are thin in that arena here.) So what to do? I wondered if I should have a good go at trying to fix it- again- but then do I really want a lamp next to my bed – the place where I try to relax and feel serene – with bits and pieces of ‘fix it’ all over it? Oh, what to do???? So I feel your pain about the blind, which by the way is completely lovely. I suspect that like you, I am going to purchase a new lamp – but it wouldn’t have been a purchase without forethought. I guess at the end of the day mindfulness, care and balance needs to be part of the aim.

    • I agree with you about mindfulness, care and balance. Sounds like your lamp does need to be replaced (could it not become a fire hazard?). As for my blind, I intend it to last a long time – hence, searching for what I really wanted rather than buying an interim blind till I found what I wanted.

    • Why not post a photo of your lamp for us bloggers to see; maybe someone can come up with a suggestion or two to salvage your lamp? Someone might have an idea or perspective that you haven’t thought of? At the very least, is it attractive enough to hold a plant sitting in your garden? That way you don’t have to say goodbye to it if you are attached to it for some reason ; – )

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

