First bowl of strawberries

The number of strawberries I picked at 7 o’clock this morning far exceeded my expectations! There were a few casualties – from the outside they looked ripe and tasty fruit but they were actually hollow shells – and I decided to pick one or two before they were fully ripe, but I still got a whole bowl of strawberries.

Still on the subject of strawberries, the plants are starting to put out runners now, so I’ve been putting them in pots to root, before I separate them from the parent plant. I am surprised that one of the new plants that came from a runner last year is already reproducing but that means I will have a few young plants to place in my fruit garden when I get that up and running (next year ideally).

Other news in brief is that the coriander is not only in flower but it looks like the seeds will be ready for picking soon:

The mangetout are still happily pumping out the pods:

And the trunk of the apple tree has stopped looking like a spindle and is thickening out:

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First bowl of strawberries

  1. Looks like the strawberry season has started slightly earlier this year, in 2013. Maybe the long winter did the plants some good, or could it just be the better weather this time round?

    Anyway, I had originally been planning to get rid of the old plants last year, but most of the runners I mentioned in the above post died, so I couldn’t put them in my new fruit and flower garden as I had intended.

  2. streepie says:

    This year is a very good year for strawberries – mine are producing more fruit than in the last two years! I also think the cold winter did the plants some good – and I did not cut back the leaves as is normally suggested.

    We are also picking our first crop of red currents (yummy!) and had our first meal with fresh green peas and broad beans!

    Enjoy your strawberries!
    Connie

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

