The waiting game…….

I’ve just picked nearly half a pound of strawberries, so it is not quite true that I am back to waiting for crops be ready. However…. the mangetout are on their last legs and I will get only one, perhaps two, more meals out of the broad beans. That said, when the beans are cut down, I will be able to dig up the potatoes which have been sprouting up underneath them. The same goes for the mangetout 🙂

Whilst outside a little while ago, I peeked through the holes in one of the cloches to look at the rainbow chard, in the hope of seeing some colourful stems. Nope! They are starting to look quite leafy but so far not spectacularly pretty. Maybe they need to be exposed to more sunlight?

Anyway, the indoor tomatoes are romping away, though again it is going to be a while before we can harvest any of the fruit. At least, that will be a lot sooner than the winter vegetables – one would hope. Regarding the latter, the cauliflower are getting bigger and stronger but I won’t be planting them out for a good few weeks and I hope that they won’t be killed off by a winter like the one we had two years ago. (It started snowing in November and went on till the New Year. In fact, I can’t remember experiencing a winter quite like it before!)

There are also some other vegetables growing in place of the dill which came to nothing. That said, I don’t yet know what these vegetables are – I had it in my mind that I’d planted spring onions but if that is what they are then there has been a major mutation.

Another thing I’ve noticed, and not just today, is that I never seem to get a full line of plants. Either there is a gap in the middle of the row or only one end actually grows. I wonder why this could be?

As usual, there are more questions than answers but all being well over the next few weeks there will be some answers to at least a few of the questions!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The waiting game…….

  1. That is so true about a complete line or block of veggies – there are always some that seem to keel over as soon as I plant them, that or the slugs make up the rest of the damage and gaps !

    • Thanks for your comment and yes, it is probably the slugs having better access to the edges of a line. Or if the problem is in the middle, it could be that that is where they’ve found the food before I get to them!

  2. PJ Girl says:

    Not sure about your rainbow chard… I planted mine in groups and noticed that some patches were nearly all cream or lemon stems whereas across the garden I had the most amazing reds, oranges and pinks. Mine are in a very sunny spot (if the sun appears!) but I don’t know enough to say whether this would help or not. I’m impressed that you’re growing cauliflowers!

    • It is early days for the chard, so there might be some differences as the plants get bigger? And now you mention it, the stems do vary according to which of the two batches they belong to!
      My cauliflowers have never got particularly big but I do understand they are a hard vegetable to grow. Guess it is the luck if the draw – soil and all that!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

