Click here for National Zero Waste week 2012

Earlier this morning, when I logged onto my computer to update silverbells steps out, I discovered a message from a friend about National Zero Waste Week 2012.  This year the challenge for households is to reduce the amount of waste they put into landfill, so recycling ‘one more thing’.

For anyone who is interested in knowing more, here is the URL for the My Zero Waste website:

http://myzerowaste.com/zero-waste-week-2012/

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
Link | This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to National Zero Waste Week 2012

  1. Hi Silverbells, thanks so much for sharing news about zero waste week with your readers; I really appreciate it and I hope you enjoy taking part yourself 🙂

    • I’m glad to have been introduced to your website. I was reminded today of how far we have to go collectively in reducing the amount of waste we produce: my daughter and I went to a cookery class this morning where we tried out the food we had made, served on disposable plastic trays with plastic cutlery. I know using normal plates and cutlery would entail washing them up, but I am sure we the students would have been happy to do this. After all, isn’t washing up part of learning about how to work in a kitchen?

  2. I wrote an article about food waste. (It’s not on my blog.) We could end up paying a tax on our food waste in the future. The Koreans are about to. If you’re interested: http://voices.yahoo.com/how-avoid-taxes-supermarket-savings-11394880.html?cat=3

    • I’ll have a look at the link – thanks!
      The problem I see with taxing people for their waste is that people do put rubbish in other people’s bins, so how do you stop that?

      • I don’t know. Maybe we can see how the Koreans do it and learn from them. Otherwise, we might have to fine people who use other people’s bins in the same way dog owners get fined for not keeping their pets on a leash. If the fine hurts enough, they’ll stop.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

