Slow living – July

Following on from my posts at the end of May and June about slow living, below is the record of what I’ve been doing in July, based on the blog, Slow Living Essentials.
Nourish
As with May and June, I have continued to eat as much either from my garden or from the local organic farm. I am particularly pleased with the produce from my own back garden, which has given me the following fruit, vegetables and herbs over the past month:
Prepare
I have now emptied my freezer and defrosted it, so can begin to fill it with produce from the garden.
Well, that is the plan, as at the moment I have been eating everything straightaway. I didn’t manage to catch any of the coriander before it had bolted beyond redemption but all being well, I will be saving the seeds which have appeared (and these will simply be dried naturally, so no electricity or other resources will be used in the process of preparing and storing them).
Reduce
Once again, I had hoped to reduce my use of the car by going on the train to work, once my daughter had started her summer holidays and would be coming with me. I didn’t travel as often by train as I would have liked but we did manage it once, so that is approximately 20 miles for which we didn’t drive.
Green
Over the month of July, I cut down on the amount of water we used in the house by flushing the toilet with some rainwater and the water from my daughter’s bath. Not exclusively, as I think that would have been a little unhygienic, but it seems a shame to use lots of water purified for drinking when there is an alternative source at hand.
Grow
As stated above, I have been getting quite a lot of produce out of my own back garden. Some of these things have either come to an end (e.g. the garlic has all been dug up) or is nearly at an end (e.g. the mangetout), so I’ve been planting new crops, which in the case of turnips are a totally new crop for me. As I’d hoped, I have now sown more seeds for coriander to last us into the autumn and possibly winter (they are on the kitchen windowsill) and I finally bought and sown some new chilli pepper seeds, and fingers crossed these are hotter than the ones I grew last year. The tomato plants are coming along, particularly the two I kept inside, as is the rainbow chard (another new crop for me).
Create
On the creative front, I’ve been doing arts and crafts with my daughter but haven’t so far done anything on my own terms. This seems to be the thing which stays at the bottom of my to-do list but let’s see what the future holds!
Enhance/connect
In July, one of my daughter’s friends had her birthday party at EST donkey sanctuary. It is unfortunately too late to arrange for my own daughter to have her party at such a venue, but I thought this was an excellent idea. Even though we had to drive to it, I was able to give a lift to another friend and daughter, so at least we only used one car instead of two.
Continuing the theme from June, I have been exercising more self-control over how much time I spend in front of the computer, so that I spend my time more constructively. At the same time, I realise that I need to find ways of encouraging my daughter not to take over from where I left off.
Through netmums.com I got a new book free of charge which has yet to be published. There is no obligation to give any feedback on it, but I will do so once I have read it. In the meantime, I have got a number of books to indulge in – some bought second-hand from Amazon and others borrowed from the library. So, I am currently learning history by reading ‘Katherine‘ by Anya Seton, which is about a woman I had previously never heard of but who played an important part in fourteenth century English history.
Enjoy
In July, my daughter and I enjoyed catching up with some friends we hadn’t seen for a while, as well as going away with granny and granddad to the part of the country I grew up in.
About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Slow living – July

  1. Your garden is doing so well. I’m not getting as much frozen from my garden either, just enjoying it as it comes, instead.

  2. PJ Girl says:

    You’re so well organised! I’ve grown chillies for the first time this year, and whilst they look impressive, they are mildly warm rather than hot!!

    • I’m not sure how organised I am – but thanks for the compliment!
      On the packet for my new chillies is does say they are quite hot, so it will be interesting to see how they turn out.

  3. It must be a great feeling eating vegetables out of your own garden! Our Lychee tree gave fruit for the first time this year, and I was proud of myself with every single fruit I put in my mouth (-:
    Sara

  4. lynn marie says:

    Looks like you’ve been getting some great stuff from your garden, silverbells2012! Keep on Growing!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

