The month of chard (and other leaves)

 

 

Over the last week or so my garden has changed shape… the broad beans and onions – and the potatoes which had grown by chance in the same patch of ground – came out and last weekend the garden seemed quite bare:

However, upon our return from a trip to the Midlands, the garden looked quite full again:

For a start, the pumpkins had put on a very good spurt. Below are the before and after shots:

It looks like they are going to overshadow one of the patches of rainbow chard soon. At the moment, though, the latter seems to be doing very well:

I think I will have to thin the chard under this cloche out soon. The beetroot I thinned out before going away has certainly benefited from being thinned out, although the roots are still disappointingly small, so I think we will be enjoying the leaves more than anything. And the spinach I sowed a week ago has also started to show through.

Another leaf I have just planted is corn salad, in place of the coriander which was running to seed. I have collected these seeds, with a little help of my neighbours’ grandson, and I will enjoy them in curries over the next year or so. In any case, the coriander on the kitchen windowsill is getting to the point where I can pick it (and fingers crossed this does not bolt like the lot I had outside).

The leaves on my purple sprouting broccoli have been badly eaten by caterpillars as I didn’t have enough netting to keep them covered. Still, I have learned from experience that this doesn’t inhibit the growth of the flowers later in the year/next spring. Besides, upon inspecting these leaves I could find only a couple of caterpillars, which have been duly picked off. Hopefully, they won’t come back!

Lastly, the parsley is a pleasing sight. Whatever I try to grow in the second half of the bag fails, so I will have to look into why, but at least I have more than enough parsley to keep us going – and I will store some to use over the winter months:

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The month of chard (and other leaves)

  1. PJ Girl says:

    I’m pleased your chard is coming along – we’ve had such a strange Summer!

  2. Congrats on your great garden of growth! πŸ™‚

  3. pzdesigns says:

    You’ve had some really good crops despite the odd summer we’ve had! πŸ˜€

  4. There are some definite winners there !

  5. I love the cloches over the chard. I’ve not seen those here. What a healthy garden.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

