Spot the caterpillar

The rain started yesterday, just as we were packing up (fortunately) at the end of a Bank Holiday Monday carboot sale. This morning, on the other hand, it looks set to stay gloriously sunny all day and I’ve been having an lovely time pottering around in the garden.

Most of what I’m doing around the garden at the moment is inspecting. The pumpkins needs to be kept from climbing over the fence into nextdoor’s property (though I’m sure my neighbour wouldn’t mind) and something has no doubt sprouted a few more leaves, or fallen over. The caterpillars have also been quite rife recently – one or two leaves on the purple sprouting broccoli plants have been so infested with them that I have torn the said leaves off and put them in the garden waste bin, the rationale being that I am not killing them but they are hampered in what they chomp on!

To my amazement today there were at least three cabbage white caterpillars on the rocket which I had left in the ground after it bolted, curious to see if it self-seeds for next year. They have been steadily working their way up the stems, though either this is hard work or they have only just started because the plant still looks clothed. Here is a photo of a couple of them eating breakfast this morning:

And another, having cleared a stem of leaves:

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spot the caterpillar

  1. PJ Girl says:

    It took me a while but I spotted him… caterpillars makes my skin crawl. Eewww!!!

  2. I noticed the catepillars too today, they have helped themselves to my Kohl rabi !!

    • Yes, unfortunately as part of the brassica family they will be very tempting for insects of the caterpillar variety. I’ve even noticed eggs on my pumpkins, though, so I’m well baffled. I do hope that your kohlrabi are okay, in spite of the caterpillars’ interest in them.

  3. Pingback: Jobs before breakfast | silverbells steps out

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

