Yellow surprise

This morning, when I opened my daughter’s bedroom curtains and inspected the tomatoes on her windowsill, expecting yet again to see green and nothing else, I got the most amazing surprise. I had been hoping that the tomatoes would turn red instead of staying unripened on the vine. Instead, they were … as you have no doubt guessed from the title of this post… yellow!

Now, I had heard of yellow tomatoes and my dad had given me these with the label Golden Sunrise, but I had not for one moment considered the implications of this name. So, here I am now with a double treat: not only do I at last have some ripe tomatoes to eat but a new experience as well πŸ™‚

So, it remains to be seen whether the other tomato plant my dad gave me will also produce yellow tomatoes. Or is it yet another variety?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yellow surprise

  1. Those are lovely! I like the bright, beautiful yellow. πŸ™‚ Do share what color the next plant produces!

  2. pzdesigns says:

    What a wonderful double surprise!!!
    They look YUMMY!! ^_^

  3. I Love your blog and have nominated you for a One Lovely Blog Award. If you’re interested you can find the rules of acceptance at: http://lifestyleover40.com/category/fashion/
    regards, Sara

  4. Bonus !! Whatever colour they are I’m sure they will be totally tasty

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

