Autumn

Autumn hasn’t historically been the best time of year for me but this year promises to be different. That includes the garden…

Even though the nights are drawing in, I’ve still being doing jobs early in the morning and then in the evening, to keep everything ticking over. I’ve even done some major jobs, such as emptying the compost bin of the new compost, which has now gone into a big ceramic pot on my patio. I have put a couple of the strawberry runners in there and these are happily already producing strawberries for me 🙂

As for the rest of the garden, that is now full of brassica, cauliflower and purple sprouting broccoli, as well as my two pumpkin plants which are doing very well, after a few earlier failures. I’ve covered as many of the brassica as I can, in an attempt to keep the cabbage white butterflies off – the purple sprouting broccoli plants were targeted over the summer, as I didn’t have quite enough covering for them at that time, but so far the butterflies have not been depositing their eggs on the cauliflowers, thank goodness.

So, here is the new-look autumn garden:

The corn salad I planted in August is starting to develop its true leaves, which is quite exciting as I’ve never grown in it before. In fact, I don’t think I have eaten it either, so that will be a new experience all round. The spinach is doing well, too, and I am going to start picking that soon. After all, I need to give the chard a rest if I want that to last. This is also doing very well and is definitely a crop I will grow again.

Now, I hope for a mild winter, so that everything can continue to grow and produce. Oh, and so that I can get on with the landscaping so that I can transform the garden as a whole!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Autumn

  1. PJ Girl says:

    I’ve just harvested my cabbages as I noticed caterpillars on them and didn’t want to take the chance that they’d destroy my lovely crop. I’m impressed that you’re growing cauliflowers!!

    • Thanks! I understand that cauliflowers are hard to grow, but strangely they seem to be one of the plants that does best in my garden. I think it must have something to do with the soil. Sorry to hear about your cabbages – they will of course be more affected by the caterpillars as they eat exactly what you hope to eat.

  2. I’m going to have to look up brassica now – I’ve never heard of it.

  3. You have some amazing veggies to cook and enjoy!

  4. Sound slike you are busy, what with emptying compost bins, I’ve yet to get round to that ! And corn salad, is that what I know as lambs lettuce or mache? if so it’s fab in winter salads 🙂 If not I’ve found something else to try 😉

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

