Slow-living: September

Similar to August, quite a lot of September was spent on annual leave, this time at home, so I was definitely able to do quite a bit of ‘slow-living’ 🙂
Nourish
As usual, I cooked just about all our meals from scratch. Because of The Challenge, I have been able to monitor the change in the ingredients/dishes over the months, which has been interesting in itself. Thus, in September there were more curries on the menu, for example.
Prepare
My freezer is once more on the way to being full again. I had hoped to be able to freeze produce from the garden but I don’t think that I have enough land, in reality, to be able to store food, except as dishes, as I simply can’t grow enough for more than our (relatively) immediate needs. Nevertheless, the dishes will help me in my challenge to use something from the garden every day of the year.
Reduce
As stated above, in September I was working less, which meant I was on the road less, too. I even worked at home on one occasion, which also reduced the total monthly mileage and level of petrol consumption.In addition to this, we only made one long journey and that was by train.
I did put the heating on a couple of times to dry washing, but even though it has been a bit chilly I resisted the urge to have it on every day, preferring to keep warm with a blanket. For this purpose, I dug a blanket out of the airing cupboard which I bought a couple of years ago (when our heating wasn’t working properly and was needed anyway), which is more like a coat with arms and a pocket.
Green
I took a bag of plastic which can’t be put in the domestic recycle bin to work, as it can apparently be recycled from this collection point. I’m not sure what ‘recycling’ means, in this context but at least it increases the chances of the plastic being repurposed rather than going in landfill.
Grow
My garden is now mostly purple sprouting broccoli, cauliflowers, chard and spinach, though the tomatoes which appeared last month are still on the vine, as I keep my fingers crossed they will turn red before the really cold weather hits us. I’m keeping my eye on the forecast after hearing that there might be snow very soon, so that I can whip out and get them in before they are destroyed. I can see a glimmer of red, however, so there is a chance my hope will come to fruition.
Create
I am pleased to say that this month I managed to sit down with my daughter and do some creative stuff. She really appreciates this time with me, being involved in what she is doing. So, onwards and upwards.
Enhance/connect
After the school run, I’ve been going round to a local friend’s house on a regular basis for coffee (or inviting her back to mine). Children have also been coming to our house after school, or else my daughter has been going round to theirs, so altogether we are starting to feel more embedded in the community around us.
Discover
Inspired  by another blog, FrugalFeeding, I found a new way to make flatbread (rather than chappatis), which my daughter loves, even if the bread has things like poppy seeds in it, which she would normally reject.
Due to an unfortuate situation (having my purse stolen), I also started to think of a new way of using money, which I hope will help me on the way to leading less of a consumer lifestyle. Let’s see what the results are next month!
Enjoy
It was my daughter’s birthday in the middle of the month, so we had a weekend with lots of fun: a visit from grandparents, a party and a (now) rare meal out. I don’t think that the meal out in itself can be classed as green, as I was horrified to see the restaurant throwing the carcass of turkeys out when they still had meat on them and the bones could have been used to make stock. However, that has given me a new perspective…..
About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slow-living: September

  1. It sounds like there are plenty of positives there, eventhough you had your purse stolen, how horrid !!
    And what is it about recycling, in Hastings we can hardly recycle anything through our doorstep collections, friends in a different borough 20 miles away can recycle practically everything. Drives me crazy.

    • Maybe it deppends on how pressing the council feels the need to save money on putting waste in landfill?! I do hope your council will change it’s tune, though. Has there been a campaign with residents to get alternative collections going?

  2. I would guess that the restuarant has to adhere to certain rules that might curtail the stock making thing – but maybe not. I hate wasting bones too, when they can make great stock. Sounds like you had a busy and enjoyable month at home.

    I wanted to find out more about The Challenge, but the link wouldn’t work for me.

    • It’s a shame about the link for The Challenge – you can look at it by clicking on the link listed along with my other pages (e.g. About) at the top of the blog.
      Anyway, you could well be right about the health and safety regulations re the bones.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

