Green tomatoes

Last Thursday, I got home from work and decided right there and then to pick the tomatoes, still green on the vines and starting to suffer from the cold nights.

The above box of tomatoes weighed in at just over 1.2 kilos and has made some lovely chutney this weekend. I’ve even got some of those I picked last week left for eating by other means and there are a few fruit left on the vines, while I wait to see if they grow any bigger. If they don’t, it won’t be much of a loss, however, as they are indeed very small at present.

There are also some more green tomatoes on my indoor plants. I’m still holding out hope of them turning yellow (or whichever colour they are meant to be, in the case of one plant whose fruit I have not seen in their ripened glory). The sun is on the plant in my bedroom at the moment, but I think that it is not strong enough to do the job. Maybe if I put the heating on in the house, that would speed up the ripening process, but it’s still not quite cold enough, so……

Green, yellow or any other colour, I’m sure my tomatoes will eventually taste just fine πŸ™‚

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Green tomatoes

  1. Chutney sounds great! Is it getting pretty cold in your parts? We are finally dipping to the 70s in the day here..haha! Not quite cold, huh? Have a great week!

    • silverbells2012 says:

      We’re at 12-15 degrees Celsius in the day time (I think that’s somewhere is the 60s Fahrenheit).I’m not sure about night time temperatures (but my guess it has been getting close to freezing on some nights).
      Have a good week, too πŸ™‚

  2. streepie says:

    We did exactly the same with our tomatoes – it just also just to cold here for them to ripen on the vine. But we’ll leave them in the cellar for a while to see whether they will continue to ripen off the vine (they should….).

    • silverbells2012 says:

      I hope your tomatoes do ripen in the cellar. I think I’ll have eaten the rest of mine before that happens but last year I had a much better crop (planted out about a month earlier) and was able to eat the ripening tomatoes up to Christmas πŸ™‚

  3. I LOVE Fried green tomatoes…but those may be too small to make that way? Have you ever had them? It’s also one of my favorite movies πŸ™‚

    • silverbells2012 says:

      I’ve not tried fried green tomatoes yet but am looking forward to doing so. Yes, I do have some tomatoes which are big enough πŸ™‚
      Not seen the film either but I’ve heard it’s good.

  4. Tina Robson says:

    I’ve had the same problem. The greenhouse tomatoes have produced a great crop, but they are all still green. And as you say, its getting cold, very cold of a night, I doubt there will be much change.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

