Golden Sunrise

Image

The above photo shows what greeted me at dawn this morning when I opened my curtains. At last, the tomato plant on my bedroom windowsill has given me a ripened fruit and it is true to its name 🙂

How amazing nature is: it’s October and not altogether warm and sunny but I’ve just been blessed with my fourth ripe tomato of 2012.

So, what with the chutney I made last weekend, and the green tomatoes I am going to try fried, it seems that this month is very much my Month of the Tomato.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Golden Sunrise

  1. It’s funny, you just never know when you’ll get tomatoes. I had my biggest yield in September. I picked the last of them yesterday and it’s a good thing because I had frost this morning and my vines are now “toast”!

    • silverbells2012 says:

      Unfortunately, some of the green tomatoes I picked from the vines outside last week have gone rotten, no doubt because of frost damage. Still, at least that won’t happen inside!
      Sounds like you’ve had a good year in terms of tomatoes.

  2. PJ Girl says:

    I’ve never actually tried green fried tomatoes so I’l be interested to hear what you think!

    • silverbells2012 says:

      Here’s my feedback: green tomatoes take longer to cook (not doubt because they are harder than ripe ones). They do taste different, though I haven’t worked out what the difference is and it is definitely a pleasant difference.
      I’d recommend giving it a good if you have any green tomatoes left over yourself.

  3. Pingback: Green tomato chutney anyone? | The Secret Allotment

  4. I am in love with Fried Green Tomatoes. I also Love the Movie 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

