Wonders will never cease

Earlier this week it was quite blustery and when I got home in the evening I noticed that the compost bin lid had blown into the tomato patch. Then as I picked up the lid to take it back to the heap, this is what I found:

Last time I looked these fruit were tiny baubles. I had just picked the fruit that were big enough to merit being used and was leaving the rest on the vine out of curiosity.

Well, my curiosity has now been vindicated as I have at least a pound of fresh green tomatoes to eat. Presumably, because it has been getting up to 15 degrees (Celsius) on occasion, with some sun, this has allowed the tomatoes to continue growing? However, at the same time, this is what the cold nights appeared to have been doing to the plants themselves:

Admittedly, the plant above was slightly more exposed to the elements than some of the others, which had also grown bigger and thus were sheltering themselves as well as being protected by the hawthorn bush at the back of the garden. Still, in future I will be keeping my tomatoes in the ground for longer, as clearly they are hardier than I realised.

 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wonders will never cease

  1. mybrightlife says:

    I have just bought my seedlings to start planting as soon as our spring rains abate. Blue skies this morning so it might finally be happening. This last week was so heavy that all the seedlings would have been damaged. It is funny to be going into summer as you guys start settling in to cooler weather! What a fun surprise to find a late batch of tomatoes. Those unexpected garden treasures are always the best!

  2. you know I think you are right – we (well I !!) tend to pull things up too quickly. I left the climbing beans eventhough th eplants looked pretty miserable and to my surprise they continue dto provide some great fresh beans throughout September. a good memo !

  3. Karen says:

    Tomato plants really are hardier than we think.

  4. What a happy surprise! That is pretty cool!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

