October Slow Living

I’m very pleased with my attempts to live more slowly in October. It was sad to see the evenings getting darker, so the amount of time I had in the garden has been more limited but I was getting a constant flow of food nonetheless: tomatoes (both green and yellow), purple sprouting broccoli, spinach and chard. There was also a pumpkin, which we carved for Halloween:
This pumpkin came in handy first as realia in the classroom (I ended up being in a photoshoot as the students, mostly from Japan, were ecstatic about seeing it lit up in the darkened room). Then we met up with many of the families we are friends with on our estate to go trick or treating, so my daughter used it as a repository for all her booty. (This was followed by a party at one of the families’ houses and it was agreed that it would be good to find the opportunity to do similar in the future.)
Another plus this month was using the train a number of times to go into the city. This afforded me the opportunity to relax, enjoy the view and take photos, some of which are as follows:
On the green front, I also started to sell things on Ebay. I can’t claim to have made much money from this, but it is good that the things I couldn’t sell at the car boot sale in August, or which I hadn’t even thought to sell at that point, were finally going to a good new home.
Another new was finding the author, Christos Tsiolkas, whose book The Slap I started reading in October. At work, we have a book swap in the kitchen, which is where I picked the book up. I’ve no idea (yet) if this man has written any other novels but I would definitely recommend his work for its social commentary.
By the end of the month, I did have to start using the central heating as it was just too cold in the evening, if I didn’t want to spend the whole of my time in front of the TV, rather than being productive. However, the insulation top-up I had done last month seems to be working a treat.
So, overall October was an enjoyable and constructive month 🙂
About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to October Slow Living

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Lovely pics. hope November is as promising as October turned out to be!

  2. PJ Girl says:

    I agree – your photos are lovely, especially the light streaming through the trees and the beautiful reflections in the canal. It’s amazing how quickly this year has passed and it’s lovely to see you putting so many good intentions into action. Happy Bonfire Night x

    • I hope you’ve enjoyed your Bonfire Night – we have 🙂 Thanks for the compliments about the photos. I was particularly pleased with the one of Hyde Park (Leeds). I do love the sun in winter.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

