Chilli peppers brighten the winter days

Yesterday, when I got home from my winter travels I was delighted to see my new chilli pepper plant had developed quite a few fruit. And the fruit were turning a beautiful red, like berries in a winter garden.

image

I also noted that my garlic was starting to show. That is, the garlic in the tub by the back door. So it will be interesting to see how long it takes the cloves in the actual garden to appear.
As if this wasn’t enough to feel happy about, the onions I planted at the back end of last year are growing and while I was away the cauliflower and spinach, though exposed to the elements due to high winds making cloche protection impossible, have at least not perished.
All in all, I am very excited about what this year will bring me – and all other gardeners out there!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chilli peppers brighten the winter days

  1. Joe Owens says:

    I started a greenhouse business in 2002 and not being experienced, thought I needed some of every kind of pepper and tomato plant. All the hot pepper varieties developed fruit like this, where the mild varieties hung toward the roots of the plant. Congratulations on your bounty!

  2. Are you able to cook with those chilis or are they decorative only? I would love one of those plants this winter if I could use in the kitchen?

  3. Nice chilli pic, well done for your fine efforts and thanks, I’m really enjoying your blog. Happy new year!

  4. The chilli plant is so beautiful, I am going to get one myself. Does it require direct sun to survive?

    • I think it would be best for the plant to have direct sunlight. In my climate, I think the peppers would be more pungent in a heated greenhouse perhaps, so it would be interesting to know if they were hotter grown where you are!

  5. pobept says:

    have you considered this little ornamental pepper?
    Chilly Chili Hybrid. This ornamental pepper seems to explode in a riot of color, bringing bright orange and red to landscapes or containers. Two to 2-1/2 inch long fruit are borne above the foliage and start out greenish-yellow, then turn to orange, and finally to dark red. Plants grow about 1 foot tall and spread up to 14 inches wide. Extremely heat tolerant, Chilly Chili provides garden color even during the hottest summers.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

