Tomatoes in January

image

Last autumn, when I picked the fruit off the tomato plant in my room, I noticed new flowers forming. Out of curiosity therefore I decided to keep the plant on the windowsill, water it occasionally and see what happened. The upshot is that I now have a handful of fresh tomatoes grown in Northern England in the middle of winter! All being well, I hope that means the aubergine and okra I intend to grow this season will be a success. Another success already in the offing are the cauliflowers. When I came home after my Christmas/New Year hols, I saw immediately the little white heads poking through the foliage. Unfortunately, something has had a little nibble, in the same way perhaps that something has had a nibble at the onions – particularly the ones at the back of the garden 😉 – but I am confident that they are strong enough to withstand the interest of the odd pest. That said, maybe it is time to resurrect the cloche that was put away while I was on holiday to prevent it being taken by the wind?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomatoes in January

  1. How exciting!!!! Homegrown tomatoes in the winter!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

