Spring is in the air

image

This week, we have had snow. It has been cold and there has been disruption. And then I saw the yellow flowers on my tomato plant.
The windowsill is south-facing and there has been a smattering of
sun. Nonetheless, I am amazed by this little plant’s determination to survive.
I hope that I will have as much success with the okra and aubergine I intend to grow later in the year. In the meantime, the snow has gone and I am going to get down to work in my garden very soon 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring is in the air

  1. Your success with your indoor tomato plant amazes me! I am having success with some mint which has grown roots and for the past 2 weeks, has begun growing new leaves. It’s only in water and nothing else. But you know the reputation mint has: it will take over if you let it! Why can’t tomato plants be like that! lol! I’ve got bushes out front that are blocking the sun from coming into my south facing windows. I plan to trim them a lot as soon as the weather warms up. Maybe I will try my hand at growing tomatoes indoors. I usually forget that I have a plant on the window sill because I draw the drapes at night. But, I have been remembering the mint for some reason and change the water every day or every other day so maybe I’ve developed a habit and a tomato plant would survive. We shall see!

    • Yes, do give indoor tomatoes a try. I originally had two plants indoors simply because there was no room in the garden. However, even today I am getting new fruit. Amazing, isn’t it?
      My mint is outside in a pot. I haven’t noticed how it is doing at the monent but the parsley is starting to grow so I hope the mint is sprouting some new shoots, too.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

