Intrepid spinach

image

As the unseasonal snow we had last weekend melts, I have noticed small spinach leaves showing through. This was planted last autumn and never came to anything.

I’ve never actually had any luck with anything in the baskets (as shown above), apart from parsley, which is growing once again. So, it is a mystery to me that crops I have had difficulty with are apparently thriving in what I think must be adverse conditions.

Aside from the relative success of my crops planted last autumn, I am dismayed that I won’t be able to take advantage of a day at home tomorrow to get moving with preparations for my spring garden. Unless, there is a sudden rise in temperatures – we are on about 3°C at present – and lots of glorious sun before breakfast. Of course, anything is theoretically possible but I wouldn’t want to hold out hope at this stage.

Suffice to say, I think that I might just enjoy a little salad this evening. Fresh spinach is one of my favourites 🙂

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Intrepid spinach

  1. Hy Silverbells, I haven’t been very good at blogging and commenting lately, it’s my procrastination and winter blues I think.
    It is nice to see something coming up from under that cold,cold earth, but I don’t think we will be planting new seedlings or plants outside just yet. All mine are growing out of there modules and do need to be put out,hopefully soon.
    Catherine.

  2. kate says:

    It’s amazing how it manages to keep growing right on through the snow!

    • Yes, Kate! To be fair, during the day temperatures here have been above freezing, so that will have helped.
      This afternoon, the snow over the spinach in the photo was receding almost before my very eyes, so just as well I took it when I did!

  3. That little guy is adorable!

  4. I had great luck with my spinach this way last year so I have tried to do it again this year. So far I don’t see any spinach though. Very nice to have something ready to eat as soon as the snow melts!!

    • I hope your spinach will still come through! We’ve just been away so haven’t had chance to enjoy ours yet – somehow didn’t get round to the salad I mentioned in my post.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

