Tidying up

Last Sunday, I was determined to continue the good work I had started earlier in the weekend. Repotting was a priority: the palm my dad had given me last summer was breaking the pot it had been housed in. So, I did a convenient swap, with the palm moving into the pot where I had planted a couple of strawberry runners and these going into the one where the palm had been.

image

Or rather, one of the new strawberry plants went into the pot. Unfortunately, the second of them had died over the winter. However, I do have another two strawberry runners, which I am hoping to place directly in the fruit and flower garden, once I have decided where they can go and I have the space for them. I’ve also decided to keep all the current strawberry plants which are in the garden, even though they are now into their fourth summer. I understand that strawberry plants are best replaced after three seasons but I am curious to see how they perform after they have supposedly past their best.

Another gamble this evening has been pruning the blackberry bush. Yes, as it is starting to produce new shoots is hardly the correct time to do it but I had lacked the courage to tackle it last autumn. So, out came the secateurs and away went the dead ends. And, oops, one branch which had started to produce a lot of very promising shoots.

On the whole, though, that was probably a blessing in disguise, from the point of view of the garden’s appearance. The bush had been hanging too far into where I plan to now grow vegetables and the whole thing gave the impression of the garden being overrun by triffids.

Last but not least, this evening I rearranged the carpet and plastic sheeting to kill off grass that I have so far failed to eliminate from the area that used to be the lawn. This happens to be the area where the blackberry bush had been hanging, and now that I have dug out some of the grass as well as persisting dandelions, I have a much more pleasant garden to look onto.

At this point, an April shower started and it was getting too dark for a photograph. I will, however, take one as soon as I can to illustrate the tidier garden and the improvements that go with it.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tidying up

  1. This makes me feel lazy as I have not done any tidying up in my yard yet this spring…..Once I get going I love it, just hard to get started.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

