An aubergine has sprouted!

I wrote this post full of excitement, but unfortunately the aubergine has since died. Or perhaps it never was an aubergine but a week that germinated in the compost. Never mind – I will try again next year!

I couldn’t believe my eyes this morning: when I opened the curtains in my daughter’s room, there at last was the first aubergine seedling coming through:

Image

Two months ago, when I sowed the six seeds, it was admittedly very cold on that windowsill, so I am not surprised that none of them had germinated before now. At the same time, it has been quite hot on there – about 21ºC for good couple of weeks or so now – so I wasn’t sure if there would realistically be much change of me getting any aubergines from this batch of seeds, at least.

Of course, one seedling does not equate to a summer of aubergine curries and ratatouille but if one has germinated, there is hope for the rest. And I am going to give them watering cans full of tender loving care to enable them to have the best chance of both survival and production.

Incidentally, they are currently being grown in my own compost. This is heavier than the kind you can buy commercially, which might have some bearing on whether or not they germinate. I have not had difficulties with other vegetables,though.

And instead of buying any starter pots, I have been using egg cartons, which must be made of the same material as anything you can get from a garden centre. They are free as well – I don’t by the eggs specifically for the cartons!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

