Up with the path!

At last, the path at the back of the garden is coming up!

I had intended to take a before as well as an after shot but didn’t remember to get my camera out until I had lifted nearly all the paving stones. So, here is what the path looked like at this point:

image

Lifting the paving stones was definitely a job in itself. The ones nearest the gate were okay as they probably hadn’t been trodden down as much as the ones nearest the front. Besides, they weren’t overgrown with grass.

In any case, with the help of my daughter, and a couple of spades, we got them all up. And then we started on the gravel round the stones. This proved to be a much more back-breaking job – lots of dirt under the fingernails, too.

In all, we must have cleared the path of about 50 litres of gravel. Now, that is in bags, waiting for a buyer on Ebay to take them away. I have no idea, of course, if this idea will become a reality but even for £1 it will be a bonus for me.

In the meantime, I still have a lot of work to do. After about two hours’ work, the path doesn’t actually look substantially different from the way it was in the first photo – at least not to my eyes!

image

We have removed the bulk of the gravel. Now it is on with the messier job of picking out the remainder from the soil, last autumn’s fallen leaves and the various weeds that have grown through the membrane that was under it all.

Hopefully, it won’t take me long to find the motivation to get on with this stage of the job. If the worst comes to the worst, though, I can always lift the membrane and simply put the whole lot in the bin. Whatever, I really don’t think I will be selling the membrane on Ebay 😉

Notwithstsnding, I would like to complete this stage of my garden overhaul as soon as possible, so that I can get on with more exciting things like choosing the flowers for my intended fruit and flower garden, which will extend into the area where the path used to be. I think this is going to take a bit of research, including picking the brains of knowledgeable friends and relatives, as I know next to nothing about what kind of plants to go for.

Anyway, I have promised my daughter we will do an internet search this evening. She is even keener than me to have flowers – at six years old though, I wonder how far it isn’t just so she can pick them?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Up with the path!

  1. pobept says:

    Think annuals in front and perennials in back of new bed. Look for key words on seed packages like ‘easy’, self re-seeding, old heirlooms, things like hollyhock, 4 O’clocks, bachelor buttons, cone flowers. Dill weed macks a good back row tall plant, and of course any of the many sun flower types
    Happy Flower gardening

  2. PJ says:

    Good work! It’s going to be great and the best part is choosing which flowers to have. For inspiration look at Sarah Raven’s site (drool). Flowers that become more productive the more you pick them are ideal – and your daughter can keep on picking them. Sweetpeas and cosmos etc and the bees love them too!

    • Thank you for your suggestions, too, PJ. It would be nice to have some flowers this summer but we still haven’t sown the poppy seeds we were going to last week. Still, tomorrow won’t be too late!

  3. It’s that busy outside time of year again – one job leads to another and another.. Good luck and have fun planning your new bed. I’d ask around at the neighbours too – if they have any bedding plants that need dividing – you might score more than you think, and for free. I have enough that many people could come and divide mine up.

  4. You have chosen and ambitious task. When it is done, it will make a huge difference. I am hopeful you will post your progress.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

