The value of patience

It’s seventeen degrees out there and sunny, so I’ve been doing a bit of spontaneous gardening. The weeds have been rampant over the winter but many handfuls have now gone in the municipal green waste bin. However, while this job was in itself quite satisfying, nothing could beat seeing how much the rhubarb has come on – and so quickly!

I bought the rhubarb in the spring of 2010 when it was a small crown. As recommended, I took no stalks from it that year and only a few the year after. Then in the autumn of 2011, I moved the crown from a pot to its current position near the apple tree at the back of the garden. I wasn’t sure how much that would affect production but the rhubarb did seem to be okay. The stalks were really quite small, though, and we did not get any substantial dishes from it!

I was therefore totally amazed this afternoon to see the following:

image

Yes, we can have stuff that looks like it could have been bought….. I am finding it difficult to get my head round the fact that the results of growing your own food can be on a par with anything professionally cultivated. But there you go πŸ™‚

Although most of the weeds have now gone, I do like the yellow dandelions, especially here, as a contrast to the purple primroses. The flowers will have to go before they turn into clocks but I will let them be for tonight.

image

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The value of patience

  1. andy1076 says:

    I love Rhubarb, It’s so yum. Thank you for the bottom pic by the way, I always wondered the name of the little purple ones. πŸ™‚

  2. I have been growing rhubarb for about three years and my experience is similar to yours…congratulations on your success, your patience paid real dividends.

    • I’m glad your rhubarb has given you pleasure, too. Now, I just need mine to grow a bit more so I can give some stalks to a friend who has never tried rhubarb before.

  3. Congratulations, isn’t growing your own the best! Well at least when it comes good!! I love those moments too πŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

