Paving stones rehomed!

Another heavy task has just been completed. Some paving stones I lifted from my garden path have now been placed between the rhubarb and the hawthorn bush at the back of the garden and my general household waste bin (black in the photo below) as well as the garden waste bin (brown one) are standing in their new and less obtrusive position.

image

Previously, the municipal bins filled up pretty much the whole of my path, which effectively meant we had to walk on the garden to get to the back gate. They were also difficult to pull out of the garden because the paving stones underneath were not joined, but rather spaced out with gravel (and weeds!) inbetween.

So, the next question is whether I try to change the direction in which the back gate opens or simply remove it completely. I guess that will depend on whether it disintegrates in the process of unscrewing it 😉

In any case, the gate must be changed, otherwise getting the bins out onto the street will mean manoeuvring them over the rhubarb and anything else which gets in their way!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paving stones rehomed!

  1. andy1076 says:

    Yeah, I don’t think mowing your rhubarb down is a good alternative lol 🙂

  2. PJ says:

    Rhubarb thrives on neglect so fear not… you must be so fit by now!!

  3. Repurposing materials that are used in the garden is one of the keys to why we have such a special feeling when wer are there, spend time there.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

