Blame it on the couch grass!

Whilst out in the garden this evening, I decided to start digging part of the ground where the lawn used to be – in readiness for the tomatoes to go in sometime next month. In the process, I noticed couch grass roots, which I duly extracted from the soil. So far so good.

Then I noticed some bigger roots. Mmm, this looked as though it could have been a monster of a couch grass to my naive gardening mind and so I pulled.  And I pulled. And I pulled.

When the blackberry bush started to sway and it couldn’t have been because of the wind – there was none – I realised my mistake. These roots belonged to the blackberry bush.

image

Fingers crossed this little pile of couch grass roots and something much less menacing will not lead to the demise of the blackberry bush. I already made a mistake in pruning it too late and not necessarily sufficiently, earlier in the year, so it is going to need lots of tender loving care from now on, methinks.

Oh well, I have also carried out some more productive work this evening. This includes sowing purple sprouting broccoli in between the broad beans and cauliflower in between the turnips. My thinking is that these will not need the space until the earlier sown vegetables are out of the ground. Another case of fingers crossed but all being well not a damaging adventure!

image

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blame it on the couch grass!

  1. You will not kill that blackberry bush, it may take some time for it to come back, but you will not kill it. I would imagine that if you plant those roots you have a fairly good chance of starting new plants.

  2. Jane Hogan says:

    That is just the sort of thing I would do.. just put up a pop up greenhouse with lots of runner beans in along with broad, raddish, beets, lettuces, (all in pots due to boggy garden) really struggling with Mares Tail.. Have u ever had that ? xxx

  3. bridget says:

    Purple Sprouting Broccoli is a great crop to plant. It will come into season at a time when there isn’t much else.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

