Appreciation!

image

I was touched last Friday when one of my students who was leaving after three terms with us presented me with the birds featured in the photo above. It is always comforting to know that your hard work and care is appreciated…. but the fact that he had noted the passion for my garden touched me as much as anything 🙂

My daughter was at a friend’s when I opened the present and when she got home, she went straight outside to make a bed of straw for our special birds. I don’t know what the live version of them think but they are out there now scurrying about, waiting to see if my neighbour digs up any juicy worms for tea.

Anyway, in so many ways this academic year has been so delightful. I hope that everyone who has been part of it will remember it with as much fondness as me!

© Helen Butt 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Awards, Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Appreciation!

  1. mybrightlife says:

    Very nice to be appreciated! You must be doing something very right in the classroom. Hope your summer break is a good one.

  2. What a lovely gift, they are so nice!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

