Midsummer: cold and rainy!

Actually, the start of the week was warm and sunny but the last couple of days have been very different. At least the soil has been much more amenable to gardening.

Thus, I’ve planted some fennel – a new venture for me – and have transferred some cauliflower seedlings from the turnip patch to a brand new spot, where the rotary line used to be. Hopefully,this year I will have more success than last, when my first attempts with the cauliflower failed dismally. Surely they will be okay under the cloche, especially as I have started them early enough?

image

The cloche in question is in the background of the photo. To the left in the foreground are the aforementioned turnips, which are doing magnificently, if they are looking a bit bedraggled after being cramped under the cloche for a few weeks. I am sure this will have helped them develop, in comparison with last year, but I think it is time to let them have a bit more space now.

On the other hand, the broad beans are smaller plants than those last year. I imagine this has something to do with the fact that I sowed them later this year, it being a much longer winter.

image

I am disappointed that a second sowing of lettuce appears to be going nowhere…. which is one of the reasons why I decided to buy in bags of top soil as well as manure and compost. Well, how could I resist this little lot at £16 for the five bags instead of £25?

image

The rhubarb has been doing remarkably well, in spite of growing on such barren ground. And not being set deep enough into the original soil in the autumn of 2011. It was impossible for me to dig down sufficiently as almost immediately I came to subsoil. So, now I have brought the soil level up to the top of the roots and added manure for good measure.

image

The next job is to do some intersowing as my garden is still looking very empty and it seems a shame not to maximise production. And I intend to continue spreading top soil and manure in what is to be the flower garden. How could I possibly expect flowers to flourish there when many vegetables won’t?

© Helen Butt, June 2013.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Midsummer: cold and rainy!

  1. Gardening is such an amazing journey. Just when you think you have it totally under control, well you don’t really; it reaches out and teaches you a new lesson.

  2. I love watching gardens grow. Yours is coming beautifully. I haven’t yet tried growing turnip, cauliflower or fennel – though I love them all.

    • Thank you for your feedback, Heidi. Had I known I was going to start a blog about my garden, I would have taken photos of it when I first moved in three and a half years ago.
      Maybe you could try turnips etc some day?

  3. bridget says:

    Just a bit of advice about the turnips. It looks like they need thinning otherwise they won’t bulk up.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

