Neeps and tatties for tea

My turnips have been doing so much better this year than last!

Admittedly, last year I only bought the seed at the back end of the summer and they were planted on sub-standard soil. This year, they are in the area which used to be lawn, which should mean that the ground is at least reasonably fertile. After all, I did spend nearly two years killing the lawn with carpet and constantly turning it over. I wonder if you could therefore say it had been given a green manure treatment?

In any case, this first batch of turnip are about the right size for cropping, according to the packet. That is, golf ball size, although as you can see in the picture below they are not all golf ball in shape.

image

Incidentally, the potatoes I had along with my turnips this evening did not come from the garden. The ones accompanying my broad beans are way off being ready. However, there are even more plants sprouting from the remains of peelings in the compost.

This is actually slightly unwelcome, as it will mean disturbing the purple sprouting broccoli that I sowed between the rows of beans. Never mind, I will deal with this little challenge when the time comes.

In the meantime, I continue watering. It was been a very pleasant 23°C today, was even higher at the weekend and who knows over the next few days!

© Helen Butt, July 2013.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Neeps and tatties for tea

  1. bridget says:

    30 celsius here in north west Ireland today.

  2. Good to hear about and see your success in the garden, my early sowings of turnips got frazzled (neglected…) and time has been dashing by and I didn’t re-sow….
    I try not to add potato peelings to my compost for the same reason, the volunteers always seem to grow in exactly the wrong place, glad I’m not alone on this though!

    • Shame about the turnips.. There might just be time to do some sowing for the autumn?

      I think I will have to give up putting potato peelings in the compost. Seems a shame to waste compost material, but my heap just doesn’t get hot enough to sort them out!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

