Japanese maple (Acer)

Yesterday evening, I got a lovely surprise: I went round to friends’ for a Ramadan breakfast and was presented with the Japanese maple in the picture below.

image

At the moment, it needs to be in a pot to build up its strength. And I do not yet know where the best place to plant it would be…. It would be a shame to have to dig it up once it was settled so, as I am still in the early stages of planning my fruit and flower garden, planting it too soon could result in unnecessary upheaval.

Purple is one of my favourite colours and the maple is not totally dissimilar to the Smoke Bush (thanks to my mum for informing me of the common name for Cotinus coggygria) I saw at Harlow Carr a couple of weeks ago.

All in all, another touching gift :-).

© Helen Butt, July 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Japanese maple (Acer)

  1. How wonderful! What a lovely gift!

  2. Tina Robson says:

    I love Acers. I’ve just bought myself one, it’s about the same size as the one in the picture and I’ve put it in a large pot for now. I know they like a sheltered spot, from the wind and I don’t think they like full sun for the whole day. Hope this helps you find a spot in your garden.

  3. I started with a small one myself. And I do not wrap it in the winter event though I should. It’s doing quite well in sprite. They are so lovely!

    • Good to know your acer is fine unwrapped in the winter. Maybe you have a mild winter climate? In any case, as mine is in a pot still I can always bring it inside.

      • We have been having pretty mild winters. There is a lot of dead sticks on them in the spring which I twist off and I read somewhere that this was normal and the tree needs pruning anyways. Somehow it has still done quite well so I try not to fuss over it.

  4. Pingback: Belsay Hall and Gardens | silverbells steps out

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

